Skip to main content

People

Welcome to the West Virginia University Astronomy Page! Use the sidebar to become familiar with the faculty, staff, and graduate students!


Faculty



Picture not found

Loren Anderson

loren.anderson@mail.wvu.edu

Phone 304-293-4884
B.S. Whitman College, 2002
Ph.D. Boston University, 2011
Research Galactic HII Regions and Star Formation



Picture not found

Duncan Lorimer

duncan.lorimer@mail.wvu.edu

Phone 304-293-4867
B.S. University of Wales, 1990
Ph.D. University of Manchester, 1994
Research Compact Objects and Radio Transients


Picture not found

Maura McLaughlin

maura.mclaughlin@mail.wvu.edu

Phone 304-293-4812
B.S. Pennsylvania State University, 1994
Ph.D. Cornell University, 2001
Research Neutron Stars and General Relativity



Picture not found

Sean McWilliams

Sean.McWilliams@mail.wvu.edu

Phone 304-293-3076
B.S. Pennsylvania State University, 2003
Ph.D. University of Maryland, 2008
Research Compact Binary Systems and General Relativity



Picture not found

D.J. Pisano

djpisano@mail.wvu.edu

Phone 304-293-4886
B.S. Yale University, 1996
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2001
Research Neutral Hydrogen in Distant Galaxies



Picture not found

Sarah Burke Spolaor

sarah.spolaor@mail.wvu.edu

Phone 304-293-2771
B.S. Haverford College, 2006
Ph.D. Swinburne University of Technology, 2011
Research Binary Supermassive Black Holes and Radio Transients



Picture not found

Kathryn Williamson

kewilliamson@mail.wvu.edu

Phone 304-293-3422
B.S. University of Georgia, 2008
Ph.D. Montana State University, 2013
Research Education and Public Outreach

Staff



Picture not found

Nathaniel Garver-Daniels

nathaniel.garver-daniels@mail.wvu.edu

Phone 304-293-3422
System Administrator


WV logo

Margaret Mattson

mamattson@mail.wvu.edu

Phone 304-293-3784
Program Coordinator


Post-Docs



Picture not found

Paul Baker

paul.baker1@mail.wvu.edu

B.A.  Reed College, 2006
M.S. Montana State University, 2008
Ph.D. Montana State University, 2013 



Picture not found

Paul Brook

paul.brook@gmail.com

MPhys University of Leeds and UC Berkeley, 2010
Ph.D. University of Oxford, 2015



Picture not found

Harsha Blumer

harsha.blumer@mail.wvu.edu

Ph.D.  University of Manitoba, 2013 



WVU logo

Peter Breiding

peter.breiding@mail.wvu.edu

B.S.  University of Virginia, 2013
Ph.D. University of Maryland - Baltimore County, 2018 




Pete Gentile photo

Pete Gentile 

pgentile@mail.wvu.edu

B.S.          
Ph.D.  West Virginia University, 2018



WVU logo

Megan Jones 

mljones1@mail.wvu.edu

B.S.  University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2012 
Ph.D.  West Virginia University, 2018 



Picture not found

Michael Lam

michael.lam@mail.wvu.edu

B.S. Colgate University, 2011
Ph.D. Cornell University, 2016
Research Millisecond Pulsars, Gravitational Waves




Natalia Lewandowska photo

Natalia Lewandowska

natalia.lewandowska@mail.wvu.edu

Ph.D.  University of Wuerzburg, 2015 
Research  Single pulse radio emission, giant radio pulses, multiwavelength emission from pulsars






WVU logo

Justin Linford 

justin.linford@mail.wvu.edu

B.S.  New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, 2003
Ph.D.  The University of New Mexico, 2012
Research 



WVU logo

Dusty Madison

dmadison@nrao.edu

B.S.  University of California, Berkeley, 2007
Ph.D.  Cornell University, 2015
Research 



Picture not found

Mayuresh Surnis

msurnis@gmail.com

B.S. Fergusson College, 2008
Ph.D. National Centre for Radio Astrophysics (Pune), 2017
Research Fast Radio Bursts



Current Graduate Students


WVU logo

Devansh Agarwal

da0017@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution      
Enrolled       
Project          
Advisor  Duncan Lorimer 


WVU logo

Kshitij Aggarwal

ka0064@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution      
Enrolled       
Project          
Advisor  Sarah Burke-Spolaor



Picture not found

Belinda Cheeseboro

bdc0001@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution Andrews University
Enrolled 2015
Project Unmodeled Searches for Eccentric Binaries with LIGO
Advisor Sean McWilliams



Picture not found

Ashok Choudhary

aschoudhary@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution
Enrolled 2015
Project Simulating Electromagnetic Counterparts to GW Sources
Advisor Sean McWilliams



WVU logo

William Carl Fiore

wcf0002@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution     
Enrolled       
Project      

Advisor  



Picture not found

Golnoosh Gopayegani

gogolpayegani@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution  Azad University, Central Tehran Branch
Enrolled 2014
Project Detection and Classification of Transient Radio Sources
Advisor Duncan Lorimer



WVU logo

Andrew Kaiser

ark0015@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution     
Enrolled       
Project      

Advisor  Sean McWilliams 



WVU logo

Joseph Kania

jkania@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution       
Enrolled       
Project   
        
Advisor  Duncan Lorimer



Picture not found

Amber Lenon

al0034@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution Syracuse University
Enrolled 2016
Project Modeled Searches for Eccentric Binaries with LIGO
Advisor Sean McWilliams



Picture not found

Matteo Luisi

maluisi@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution Graz University of Technology
Enrolled  2014
Project  The Impact of HII Regions on the Interstellar Medium of our Galaxy
Advisor Loren Anderson



Picture not found

Josh Mascoop

jlmascoop@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution Boston University
Enrolled 2015
Project The HII Region Luminosity Function
Advisor Loren Anderson



WVU logo

Patrick Nelson

penelson@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution     
Enrolled       
Project      

Advisor  Zach Etienne


Picture not found

Nihan Pol

nspol@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution     
Enrolled       
Project      

Advisor  Maura McLaughlin



Picture not found

Amy Sardone

asardone@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution
Enrolled 2015
Project Low N(HI) Gas in the CGM of Nearby Galaxies
Advisor D.J. Pisano



Picture not found

Brent Shapiro-Albert

bjs0024@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution Union College
Enrolled  2016   
Project          
Advisor  Maura McLaughlin 


WVU logo

Evan Smith

ets0005@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution          
Enrolled          
Project          
Advisor  D.J. Pisano 


WVU logo

Jacob Turner

jet0027@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution  Oberlin College
Enrolled  2018    
Project          
Advisor  Maura McLaughlin 


Haley Wahl photo

Haley Wahl

hmw0023@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution  University of Vermont     
Enrolled  2017
Project  Polarization Calibration and Rotation Measure Variations of the NANOGrav 12.5-Year Data Set     
Advisor  Maura McLaughlin 


WVU logo

Caitlin Witt

caw0057@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution Cornell University
Enrolled  2017    
Project          
Advisor  Sarah Burke-Spolaor 

Former Graduate Students


Will Armentrout photo

Will Armentrout

warmentr@nrao.edu

Undergraduate Institution Westminster College 
Enrolled 2012 
Graduated 2018  
Thesis  A Census of the Galactic HII Region Population
Current Affiliation  Postdoctoral Fellow, Green Bank Observatory



Jason Boyles photo

Jason Boyles

jason.boyles@wku.edu

Undergraduate Institution Franklin College
Enrolled 2006
Graduated 2011 
Thesis  Studies of pulsar populations: Searching, timing, and modeling
Current Affiliation Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics, Western Kentucky University



Picture not found

Jayanth Chennamangalam

jayanthc@gmail.com

Undergraduate Institution Mahatma Gandhi EE College
Enrolled 2009
Graduated 2014
Thesis  Sampling the Radio Transient Universe: Studies of Pulsarsand the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence
Current Affiliation Starting an Indian Engineering Firm



Pete Gentile photo

Pete Gentile

pgentile@mail.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution             
Enrolled             
Graduated  2018
Thesis  Pulsars as Calibration Tools and X-Ray Observations of
Spider Pulsars

Current Affiliation  Postdoc, West Virginia University




Lucas Hunt photo

Lucas Hunt

lhunt@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution  University of Wisconsin-Madison 
Enrolled              
Graduated  2017
Thesis 
The Evolution of Luminous Compact Blue Galaxies in COSMOS between z~0.0-1.0 
Current Affiliation  Postdoctoral Research Fellow, United States Naval Observatory



WVU logo

Megan Jones 

mljones1@mail.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution  University of Wisconsin-Madison 
Enrolled              
Graduated  2018
Thesis  

Current Affiliation  Postdoc, West Virginia University



Picture not found

Mitch Mickaliger

maledict20@gmail.com

Undergraduate Institution Boston University
Enrolled 2007
Graduated 2013
Thesis   Searches for Radio Pulsars & Fast Transients and Multiwavelength Studies of Single-pulse Emission
Current Affiliation Engineer, SKA, University of Manchester, UK



Picture not found

Joshua Miller

j314159@gmail.com
Undergraduate Institution Eastern Michigan University
Enrolled 2006
Graduated 2013  
Thesis   Multiwavelength Studies of Rotating Radio Transients  
Current Affiliation First Data Scientist, Samba TV, San Francisco




Picture not found

Nipuni Palliyaguru

nipunipalliyaguru9@gmail.com

Undergraduate Institution University of Colombo, Sri Lanka
Enrolled 2009
Graduated 2015
Thesis  Probing Pulsar Emission on Short Timescales: Rotating Radio Transients, Cyclic Spectroscopy, and Single-Pulse Studies of Millisecond Pulsars
Current Affiliation Postdoctoral Scientist, Arecibo Observatory



WVU logo

Nikolas Pingel

Nickolas.Pingel@anu.edu.au

Undergraduate Institution University of Wisconsin-Madison 
Enrolled 2012 
Graduated 2018 
Thesis  
Deep Extragalactic Neutral Hydrogen Surveys with the Green Bank Telescope
Current Affiliation  Astronomer, Australian National University



Katie Rabidoux photo

Katie Rabidoux

rabidouxk@uwplatt.edu

Undergraduate Institution Michigan State University
Enrolled 2008
Graduated 2015
Thesis  Evolution of z ~ 0 Luminous Compact Blue Galaxies
Current Affiliation Asst. Professor, University of Wisconsin-Platteville



Akshaya Rane photo

Akshaya Rane

arane@mix.wvu.edu

Undergraduate Institution 
Enrolled 2011 
Graduated 2017
Thesis  
A Study of the Fast Radio Burst Population
 Current Affiliation  



Joshua Ridley photo

Joshua Ridley

jridley@murraystate.edu

Undergraduate Institution Grove City College
Enrolled 2006
Graduated 2010 
Thesis   Pulsar Populations in the Galaxy and Magellanic Clouds
Current Affiliation Asst. Professor of Physics, Murray State University



Picture not found

Andrew Seymour

seymour.andrew@gmail.com

Undergraduate Institution West Virginia University
Enrolled 2009
Graduated 2014 
Thesis  A Study of Dynamical and Emission Variabilities in Pulsars
Current Affiliation PostDoc Researcher, Arecibo Observatory, Puerto Rico




Picture not found

Joseph Swiggum

swiggumj@gmail.com

Undergraduate Institution Carleton College
Enrolled 2009
Graduated 2015
Thesis  Pulsar population synthesis using palfa detections and pulsar search collaboratory discoveries including a wide DNS system and a nearby MSP
Current Affiliation PostDoc Researcher, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee



Spencer Wolfe photo

Spencer Wolfe

spencer.wolfe@gmail.com

Undergraduate Institution West Virginia University
Enrolled 2007
Graduated 2014
Thesis  Neutral Hydrogen in the Local Group and around the Milky Way
Current Affiliation PostDoc Researcher, SKA South Africa, Cape Town